top of page

CBSE Exam Pattern

Updated: May 14, 2023

CBSE envisions the all-round development of students with a holistic approach to education. It put emphasises on integration of co-curricular domain with curricular domain in an equitable manner. Here, we have provided the CBSE Exam pattern and course structure for scholastic and co-scholastic learning. The CBSE curriculum is designed in such a way that it will foster core competencies in students.

CBSE Exam Pattern for Class 1 to 5

As per the latest CBSE exam pattern for class 1 to 5, the assessment of students is done in two areas i.e.

  1. Scholastic

  2. Co-scholastic

The scholastic area mostly includes test marks, notebook upkeep and subject enrichment activities. On the other hand, the co-scholastic areas include skill-based activities, art education, physical educations and other co-curricular activities like dance, art, music, etc.

The academic year is split into two sessions i.e. Formative and Summative Assessments.

  • Formative Assessment (FA):

Through this assessment, the students are observed on a regular basis regarding their progress in academics. It includes conversations, projects, class-work, visual testing, assignments, class test, homework, practical, quizzes, oral testing, etc. These formative assessments are purely informal, however, the date and time of test will be announced beforehand. These assessments will be conducted in the regular periods of concerned subjects.

  • Summative Assessment (SA):

This assessment test is the final assessment of the student’s performance. This assessment will be conducted twice a year, at the end of each term in the form of a proper pen and paper-based test conducted by the schools themselves.

Grading System for class 1 to 5:

All the internal and the external assessments will be made in marks. However, the overall results will be given in grades. The final report card of students will reflect only the grades. The CBSE exam pattern for class 1 to 5 is same and the grades given are on 5 point scale. The grades will be based on a student’s performance in all the 6 exams (4 FAs and 2 SAs).

The current grading system with CBSE exam pattern for class 1 to 5 is discussed in the table given below:


% Range



90 - 100 %



75 - 89



56 - 74

Very Good


35 - 55



Below 35

Scope for Improvement

53 views0 comments


bottom of page